Store bought sake

Here is where we drink and tell. Whether its a new drinking hole or new beer, tell us your opinions and recommendations. Lets not forget about food pairing too. Anything to help soothe another pint down the throat.

Store bought sake

Postby southernoise » 12 Jan 2009, 13:17

Where do you guys normally get your sake? and what's good to drink? Sake noob here. Drank a few chilled ones @ a ramen joint and it was yummy!
On Tap:
Coming up: Uruk-hai IPA
Fond Memories:
American Pale Ale, tweaked from Jamil's Brewing Classic Styles page 134
Dirty Water Brown, tweaked from Jamil's Brewing Classic Styles page 141
southernoise

Re: Store bought sake

Postby keat » 12 Jan 2009, 21:17

Welcome to the addiction! I swear sake is the only alcohol that goes well with sashimi...
I get mine from Isetan@Lido building usually. You can also try Mediya in Liang court, good selection too, but i think they are both supplied by the same importer. I've seen the same promotion lady in both places. Another place is NTUC Finest @ Bt Timah, they have one of my fav at a reasonable price, but their selection is not very wide - maybe 6? they do have seasonal stuff sometimes, but you'll usually find them in Isetan and Mediya too.
On Tap:Nil
Coming up: German Blonde
In fond memories: The Pursuit of Hoppyness (IBC 2007 Gold) -- Cheap Bastard Ale (IBC 2008 Gold) -- Cheap Bastard Ale III (Asia Beer Awards 2008 Gold)
keat

Postby southernoise » 13 Jan 2009, 09:31

ah yes thanks. which one is your favourite? Thinking of buying some for the reunion dinner rather than beer! heh heh...

reading http://www.sake-world.com/ opens up a totally new perspective of sake. I didn't know that there were so many variations!
On Tap:
Fond Memories:
southernoise

Postby keat » 14 Jan 2009, 21:09

southernoise wrote:ah yes thanks. which one is your favourite? Thinking of buying some for the reunion dinner rather than beer! heh heh...